Empire of the wolf est une trilogie de Richard Swan publiée par Orbit. On y suit Sir Konrad Vonvalt, Justice de l’empire, grosso modo un magistrat itinérant qui parcourt le grand empire de Sova pour résoudre les petits ou gros problèmes. Le tout nous est raconté par le point de vue de sa jeune apprentie et protégée Helena Sedanka.

Résumé :

The Empire of the Wolf simmers with unrest. Rebels, heretics and powerful patricians all challenge the power of the imperial throne.

Only the Order of Justices stands in the way of chaos. Sir Konrad Vonvalt is the most feared Justice of all, upholding the law by way of his sharp mind, arcane powers and skill as a swordsman. At his side stands Helena Sedanka, his clerk and protégé, orphaned by the wars that forged the empire.

When the pair investigate the murder of a provincial aristocrat, they unearth a conspiracy that stretches to the very top of imperial society. As the stakes rise and become ever more personal, Vonvalt and Helena must make a choice: will they abandon the laws they’ve sworn to uphold in order to protect the empire?

Tome 1 : The justice of kings

Tome 2 : The tyranny of faith

Tome 3 : The trials of empire

Parution en février 2024